SkennyBetch In The City

Learning to eat healthy and exercise in Chicago

Grocery List

I love grocery shopping! It’s relaxing. It’s my “me” time. I would go every day if I could! Generally I do go grocery shopping twice a week to re-stock when I run out of something… It just works for me. I end up eating really fresh fruit all the time because I only buy what I need for a day or two and just run back when I need more. That works for me because I live close enough to grocery stores that I don’t need to take the car every time obviously that won’t work for everyone. My mom and brother hate the grocery store and try to go as little as possible. When I grocery shop I use the calculator on my phone to keep track of my spending… I start with my budget (usually $40-50) and I figure out what tax will be on a purchase that size. I subtract the tax from the total amount (to give myself wiggle room) and then subtract the unit price of each item from that amount until I hit $0.

grocery shopping

Never go to the grocery store without a plan. Never go if you are thirsty. Definitely never go if you are hungry. I don’t buy anything if I would feel a lot of regret for eating the entire package or unit in one sitting. I know that even with the best intentions if I buy something bad I will at some point binge on it. So, if I ate an entire sleeve of rice crackers would it ruin my day/week or hurt my self esteem? No. If I ate an entire sleeve of cookies would it ruin my day/week or hurt my self esteem? Most likely.

I start in the produce section and load my cart with fruits and vegetables, then I head to the outer rim of the store for things like dairy and protien. I never go to the center shelves unless I really need something.

 

So here is generally what I try to keep my apartment stocked with:

  • Berries
  • 1 melon
  • 2 apples/ 2 oranges/ 2 Bananas / 1 other fruit
  • cucumber
  • spinach
  • spaghetti squash
  • Fresh Garlic
  • Fresh Dill, Rosemary, Mint
  • tomatoes/ celery / carrots
  • 1 other veggie for cooking
  • 1/2 gallon Oberwise whole milk. It’s more expensive but worth it.
  • Sargento thin sliced swiss cheese
  • 1 wheel laughing cow cheese- any variety
  • Eggs
  • Quart 0% Greek Yogurt
  • 2 Boneless skinless chicken breasts
  • 3-4 packets individual tuna, white albacore in water
  • Chai Seets
  • Bee Polin
  • Instant Oatmeal
  • Sour Dough Bread or English Muffins
  • Raw peanuts/ almonds/ pistachios
  • popcorn kernels
  • 1 bar good dark chocolate (at least 75% coca)
  • rice crackers
  • Adult Chewy Multi Vitamins/ Calcium/ Biotin/ fiber supplements
  • Chocolate protein powder

 

 

Tips

  • Immediately when I get home I prepare some things to save time later in the week: cut the melon and store it in the fridge, cook chicken breasts, hard boil 2 eggs
  • I also prepare chicken salad right away so I have it on hand the rest of the week
  • I cannot stress enough how important it is to buy high quality milk. I prefer Oberwise but there are plenty of comparable brands.
  • You should plan your indulgences. If it’s ice cream that you are craving set a day for it and go ahead and treat yourself… dont but the half pint and expect it to last you a while. Be realistic with what you are capable of and don’t set yourself up to make hard decisions.

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 30, 2013 by in My Story, Tips! and tagged , , , , , , , .

Goal Weight Date

Trip to VegasMay 17th, 2013
Finally here!

Goal Weight Date

Trip to GeorgiaMay 23rd, 2013
Time to relax in the sun! Happy Memorial Day Weekend!
